Richmond Home

The Inauguration of Dr. Ronald A. Crutcher

The Inauguration of Dr. Ronald A. Crutcher, 10th President of the University of Richmond, took place on Friday, October 30, 2015, at 11:00 a.m. in the Robins Center. The ceremony was part of the University's Homecoming Weekend festivities.

Inauguration Ceremony Speakers

Call to Order

Kristine A. Nolin, University Marshal, Associate Professor of Chemistry


The Reverend Craig T. Kocher, University Chaplain, Jessie Ball duPont Chair of the Chaplaincy


Patricia L. Rowland, W'77, GB'81, Rector, Board of Trustees


The Commonwealth of Virginia
The Honorable Anne B. Holton, Secretary of Education

The City of Richmond
The Honorable Dwight C. Jones, Mayor

The Alumni
Connor C. Marsden, '99, President, University of Richmond Alumni Association

The Staff
Paul Brockwell Jr., Chair, University Staff Advisory Council

The Students
Olivia E. Karahan, '16, President, Westhampton College Government Association
Angelo L. Suggs, '16, President, Richmond College Student Government Association

The Faculty
Jan Hoffman French, President, University Faculty Senate; Chair, Department of Sociology and Anthropology

The Higher Education Community
Carol Geary Schneider, President, Association of American Colleges & Universities
Lynn Pasquerella, President, Mount Holyoke College

Introduction of the President

Freeman A. Hrabowski III, President, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Charge to the President

The Rector

Presentation of the Mace, University Seal, and Chain of Office

E. Bruce Heilman, H'86, Chancellor

Richard L. Morrill, H'96, Chancellor

Edward L. Ayers, H'15, President Emeritus

Inaugural Address

Ronald A. Crutcher, President

Presidential Inauguration

Inaugural Symposium

Following the Inauguration Ceremony, Dr. Crutcher moderated an academic symposium titled “America’s Unmet Promise — The Imperative for Equity in Higher Education” in Camp Concert Hall. The symposium examined the need to expand access to and success in high-quality educational programs for students traditionally underserved in higher education.

Watch the Symposium Video