Naming Principles Commission Roster

Our commitment to a broad, inclusive process is reflected in both the composition and charge. The Commission includes faculty, staff, student, and alumni representatives, selected by their respective representative bodies. The Commission membership is as follows:

  • Kenneth S. Anderson, ’17, L’20, Alumni Representative
  • Jeff A. Brown, M.D., R’85, Trustee
  • Christy Coleman, Executive Director, Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation, Co-Chair
  • Kimberly M. Edwards, CG’13, Director of Technology Services, Law Library, Staff Representative
  • Jordyn Lofton, ’22, Student Representative
  • S. Georgia Nugent, Ph.D., Trustee
  • John A. Roush, Ph.D., Trustee, Co-Chair
  • Julietta Singh, Ph.D., Associate Professor of English and Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, Faculty Representative
  • Wendell L. Taylor, L’98, Trustee

In addition, the Commission, at its discretion, may invite up to two additional individuals to serve as members, if it determines that further expertise would be beneficial.

Special Advisor

  • Edward L. Ayers, Ph.D., President Emeritus

External Advisors

  • Paul Goldberger, Joseph Urban Chair in Design and Architecture, The New School; Former Dean, Parsons School of Design, The New School; Former architecture critic for the New Yorker and the New York Times
  • Ted R. Grossnickle, Senior Consultant and Founder, Johnson, Grossnickle and Associates, Inc.; Board Chair, The Giving Institute
  • Tuajuanda Jordan, Ph.D., President, St. Mary’s College of Maryland
  • Ruth J. Simmons, Ph.D., President, Prairie View A&M University; President Emerita, Brown University, Smith College

Staff to the Commission

  • Ann Lloyd Breeden, Ph.D., Vice President and Secretary
  • Molly Field, Director of Board Operations